Catching Up

So it’s been a while. Just thought I’d drop by and let you all know how I’m doing…

Overall, very well. It’s hard to complain when the winter weather here in Brisbane is better than the summer in some of the other places I’ve lived over the years.20150722_220131

I have been struggling with a sports injury though: plantar fasciitis has been afflicting both my feet, the result of a number of convergent factors – biomechanics, over-training, poor shoe selection. Essentially, the bands of muscle that link my heels to the balls of my feet are irritated and/or torn; so now I need to avoid running for a while, and concentrate on other things.

I bought myself a typewriter: an Olivetti Lettera 32 from the early 1970s. That’s pretty cool.

I also entered Ancient Warfare Magazine’s “Historical Fiction Contest” with a story about the 6th-century Eastern Roman/Byzantine general Belisarius, told through the eyes of one of his contemporaries, Althias. Sadly, I didn’t win – but kudos to the man who did:

http://www.karwansaraypublishers.com/pw/ancient-warfare/blog/winner-of-the-historical-fiction-contest/

Otherwise, I’m just waiting for inspiration to strike.

About ethanreilly

Ethan Reilly is an author and blogger who lives in Brisbane, Australia. Did he mention he blogs?
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

