Running vs Depression

I’m an avid runner.

I’ve never seen my running as anything other than a hobby, and a means to stay fit and healthy.

But I’ve always understood its power.

Running is more than exercise – it’s an empowering medium, and a transformative experience (if you want it to be).

Ultramarathon runners are a special breed though, taking everything about running and pursuing it to its logical extreme.

For years I’ve been fascinated by the stories of Dean Karnazes, Ann Transon, Anton Krupicka, Scott Jurek, Jenn Shelton, and many others. Men and women who regularly compete in events greater than the traditional marathon length of 42km (26.2 miles).

One of the new kings of the ultramarathon world is Rob Krar, a 30-something night pharmacist who has been tearing up the trails for the last couple of years, breaking records and inspiring others with epic feats of endurance.

What many of his admirers probably don’t realise though is that Krar has – and continues to – struggle with depression.

I count myself lucky that I’ve never felt the effects of this debilitating condition, but I have friends who have suffered. And one friend in particular who lost his battle against depression a little over two years ago.

So when I watched this video, I think I understood – or tried to:

About ethanreilly

Ethan Reilly is an author and blogger who lives in Brisbane, Australia. Did he mention he blogs?
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

