G20 Day

Anybody who has glanced at my ‘About’ page will know that I live in Brisbane, Queensland. Which just so happens to be the setting for this year’s G20 summit (in case you’ve been living under a rock; and, if the media saturation elsewhere is anything like it is here, you’d have to have been).

So what does this mean for me?

Well, for one, I have the day off work. Luckily, my place of employment happens to be situated inside the Brisbane Local Government Area. So rather than be forced to battle traffic congestion and the disruptions caused by the inevitable security presence – including designated “Exclusion Zones” around the CBD and Southbank (where the summit itself is being held), I get to stay at home and do little to nothing (besides blogging, of course).

What am I doing, pray tell, while the leaders and representatives of the richest and most powerful nations on Earth are debating not 10km from where I sit?

I am, of course, spending my time frivolously, playing games like ‘War of the Roses’ by Paradox and Fatshark:

war-of-the-roses_hero

And reading great books like Fiesta: The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway:

fiesta-the-sun-also-rises

Can’t say why it’s taken me so long to sit down and try my hand at reading Fiesta again (this will be my second attempt). I consider myself a Hemingway fan, and I love many of his other works – For Whom the Bell Tolls, A Farewell to Arms, A Moveable Feast, The Snows of Kilimanjaro, The Old Man and the Sea…

Loved them all (although I can tell why some people find A Farewell to Arms infuriating).

Fiesta has been a problem though. I’m confident that this time I’ll be able to finish though. Sometimes, I think, it just depends on what state of mind you happen to be in when you go to pick the book up.

We’ll see.

For all those who don’t have a holiday today, I’m sorry.

And for all of us that do, spend it wisely.

Adieu.

About ethanreilly

Ethan Reilly is an author and blogger who lives in Brisbane, Australia. Did he mention he blogs?
This entry was posted in Books, Games, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

