Writing Update

As the year draws to a close I guess it’s only appropriate to take stock and see what I’ve achieved.

I got nothing.

Well, not nothing – I do have this blog, that I’ve successfully been maintaining for nigh on 9 months now. And it seems to be doing pretty well (if I do say so myself). Of course, from time to time I do consider taking drastic action to increase the exposure of this site, but then something always gets in the way…

Life?

Not so much. Work, mostly. I have a day job – well, really more of a day/evening/weekend job – that requires my attention. More often over the last four months it’s been drawing time away from my other pursuits, which I find to be deeply disappointing, but I’m afraid there’s not much to be done; not, at least, for some time anyway. Like many of you out there I’m stuck, for lack of a better word, with this particular vocation, at least until August 2014 (that’s when I should be awarded my work-sponsored diploma), when I may get some options returned to me. Until then, it’s shoulder to the wheel…

And how about the other writing? Well, you’ve already seen some of what I’ve produced over the last 12 months, namely The Killing Place. Other than that, there’s been the usual assortment of false starts. And my Black Library submission samples that have been lying dormant, waiting for somebody – anybody – over at BL HQ to decide when their next submission window will be.

That’s it, really. I wish I had more for you, but the truth is I’m very limited for time recently – work and home life take up most of the hours in the day, leaving little to indulge my creativity. Soon though – I fully intend to keep the fire alive. Even if it kills me.

About ethanreilly

Ethan Reilly is an author and blogger who lives in Brisbane, Australia. Did he mention he blogs?
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

