Tough Mudder 2013

1175502_10151634578713068_701504_nA few weeks ago the inaugural Sunshine Coast Tough Mudder was held here in Queensland, Australia. While Tough Mudders have been held for some years now, this was the first time the “world’s toughest obstacle course” had made it to our sleepy corner of the country.

I took part. I finished. And I loved it!

I suppose it speaks to my personality that I enjoyed running 18-odd kilometres through alternately muddy, dusty fields and along uneven, potentially ankle-snapping trails in order to be given the privilege to, say, jump into a shipping container full of ice-cubes, or get electrocuted by ten-thousand volts of direct current as I sprint through an open frame dangling live wires. And then, of course, there was the 5-metre dive into an artificial lake of freezing water, and the (terrifying for some) crawl through a pitch-black underground tunnel half-full of muddy water. And let’s not even start on the others that ranged as far from carrying a weighty log over one shoulder as I ran to being forced to slog my way through a mile of thigh-deep mud.

The things we do for an orange sweatband!

1186153_10151634583043068_509132667_nTruthfully, I’ve always enjoyed endurance events, especially running. And the trend towards obstacle-course runs has been growing in popular culture for the last few years: now it’s not just Tough Mudder, but also Spartan Race, Warrior Dash, True Grit, Stampede…and a bunch of others that I’m sure I haven’t heard about yet. So there are plenty of opportunities to get out there, get muddy and have some fun while testing your personal limits.

I’m already committed to doing it again next year. So if anybody wants to join in and maybe learn something about themselves while they’re doing it, I say “Welcome”.

Welcome to the Tough Mudder Nation.

About ethanreilly

Ethan Reilly is an author and blogger who lives in Brisbane, Australia. Did he mention he blogs?
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

