What I’m Working On: June 2013

Can’t say too much, I’m paranoid that way – from experience I’ve learnt that the best way to kill a cool idea is to let it loose before it’s ready. But I’ve got to give you something, so here’s the briefest of summaries:

Story ideas for Black Library’s annual open submission window
I’ve got a few of these now, some no more than writing samples, one at least that’s a fully fledged short story. I obviously can’t give out any details about the content, that would invalidate their use in the publisher’s submission window, but suffice to say, they’re epic.
I am starting to wonder though when the exact dates of the window will be. This is the first year I’m planning to submit anything so I have no experience to fall back on, but based on my research it seems that BL traditionally opens the window earlier in the year than this. Does a later opening bode well, or ill? I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Fantasy novella(s) based in my own fictional world
Some time ago I came up with the idea for my own fantasy setting – it owes a lot to late antiquity and early medieval history, with an emphasis on realism tempered by a unique magic system (or so I hope!). I’m currently editing one novella (it was supposed to be a short story, but got out of hand) and working on another, both of which should tie into the eventual, “main” sequence of novels (if I ever get around to writing them – good luck!). I’ve started searching for somewhere to submit the first one once I’m done, and I’ve got a particular publication in mind…

Other than those two projects, I’m currently researching another which I intend to be historical-fiction – I have a contentious relationship with this genre, as I previously composed an epic tome set in the Hellenistic-era of the Ancient World that turned out (after many months of editing and finally, an objective look) to be woeful. But I wasn’t the writer then that I am now, so we’ll see how we go…

About ethanreilly

Ethan Reilly is an author and blogger who lives in Brisbane, Australia. Did he mention he blogs?
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

